Following system colour scheme Selected dark colour scheme Selected light colour scheme

Python Enhancement Proposals

PEP 664 – Python 3.11 Release Schedule

Author
Pablo Galindo Salgado <pablogsal at python.org>
Status
Draft
Type
Informational
Created
12-Jul-2021
Python-Version
3.11

Table of Contents

Abstract

This document describes the development and release schedule for Python 3.11. The schedule primarily concerns itself with PEP-sized items.

Release Manager and Crew

  • 3.11 Release Manager: Pablo Galindo Salgado
  • Windows installers: Steve Dower
  • Mac installers: Ned Deily
  • Documentation: Julien Palard

Release Schedule

3.11.0 schedule

Note: the dates below use a 17-month development period that results in a 12-month release cadence between major versions, as defined by PEP 602.

Actual:

  • 3.11 development begins: Monday, 2021-05-03
  • 3.11.0 alpha 1: Monday, 2021-10-05
  • 3.11.0 alpha 2: Tuesday, 2021-11-02
  • 3.11.0 alpha 3: Wednesday, 2021-12-08
  • 3.11.0 alpha 4: Monday, 2022-01-14
  • 3.11.0 alpha 5: Thursday, 2022-02-03
  • 3.11.0 alpha 6: Monday, 2022-03-07
  • 3.11.0 alpha 7: Tuesday, 2022-04-05
  • 3.11.0 beta 1: Sunday, 2022-05-08 (No new features beyond this point.)

Expected:

  • 3.11.0 beta 2: Monday, 2022-05-30
  • 3.11.0 beta 3: Thursday, 2022-06-16
  • 3.11.0 beta 4: Saturday, 2022-07-09
  • 3.11.0 candidate 1: Monday, 2022-08-01
  • 3.11.0 candidate 2: Monday, 2022-09-05
  • 3.11.0 final: Monday, 2022-10-03

Subsequent bugfix releases every two months.

3.11 Lifespan

3.11 will receive bugfix updates approximately every 2 months for approximately 18 months. Some time after the release of 3.12.0 final, the ninth and final 3.11 bugfix update will be released. After that, it is expected that security updates (source only) will be released until 5 years after the release of 3.11.0 final, so until approximately October 2027.

Features for 3.11

Some of the notable features of Python 3.11 include:

** Watch this space :) **

Source: https://github.com/python/peps/blob/main/pep-0664.rst

Last modified: 2022-05-08 03:32:48 GMT