Following system colour scheme Selected dark colour scheme Selected light colour scheme

Python Enhancement Proposals

PEP 8101 – 2020 Term Steering Council election

Ewa Jodlowska <ewa at>, Ee Durbin <ee at>
Brett Cannon <brett at>

Table of Contents


This document describes the schedule and other details of the December 2019 election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is steering council election for the 2020 term.

Election Administration

The steering council appointed the Python Software Foundation Director of Infrastructure, Ee Durbin, to implement the election, and Python Software Foundation Executive Director, Ewa Jodlowska, to communicate announcements regarding the election.


There will be a two-week nomination period, followed by a two-week vote.

The nomination period was: November 1, 2019 through November 16, 2019 12:00 UTC (The end of November 15, 2019 Anywhere on Earth). As announced on python-committers, and took place on

The voting period is: December 1, 2019 12:00 UTC through December 16, 2019 12:00 UTC (The end of December 15, 2019 Anywhere on Earth).


Candidates must be nominated by a core team member. If the candidate is a core team member, they may nominate themselves.

Nominees (in alphabetical order):

Withdrawn nominations:

Voter Roll

All active Python core team members are eligible to vote.

Ballots will be distributed based on the The Python Voter Roll for this election [1].

While this file is not public as it contains private email addresses, the Complete Voter Roll by name is available.

Election Implementation

The election will be conducted using the Helios Voting Service.


Short name: 2020-python-steering-council

Name: 2020 Python Steering Council Election

Description: Election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is steering council election for the 2020 term.

type: Election

Use voter aliases: [X]

Randomize answer order: [X]

Private: [X]

Help Email Address:

Voting starts at: December 1, 2019 12:00 UTC

Voting ends at: December 16, 2019 12:00 UTC

This will create an election in which:

  • Voting is not open to the public, only those on the Voter Roll may participate. Ballots will be emailed when voting starts.
  • Candidates are presented in random order, to help avoid bias.
  • Voter identities and ballots are protected against cryptographic advances.


Question 1

Select between 0 and - (approval) answers. Result Type: absolute

Question: Select candidates for the Python Steering Council

Answer #1 - #N: Candidates from Candidates_ Section


Of 82 eligible voters, 63 cast ballots.

The top five vote-getters are:

  • Barry Warsaw
  • Brett Cannon
  • Carol Willing
  • Thomas Wouters
  • Victor Stinner

No conflict of interest as defined in PEP 13 were observed.

The full vote counts are as follows:

Candidate Votes Received
Brett Cannon 54
Carol Willing 54
Barry Warsaw 50
Thomas Wouters 40
Victor Stinner 38
Christian Heimes 37
Pablo Galindo Salgado 37
Gregory P. Smith 32
Kushal Das 30

Complete Voter Roll

Active Python core developers

Abhilash Raj
Alex Gaynor
Alex Martelli
Alexander Belopolsky
Andrew Kuchling
Andrew Svetlov
Antoine Pitrou
Barry Warsaw
Benjamin Peterson
Berker Peksağ
Brett Cannon
Brian Curtin
Brian Quinlan
Carol Willing
Cheryl Sabella
Chris Withers
Christian Heimes
Christian Tismer
Davin Potts
Dino Viehland
Donald Stufft
Emily Morehouse
Éric Araujo
Eric Snow
Eric V. Smith
Ethan Furman
Ezio Melotti
Facundo Batista
Fred Drake
Giampaolo Rodolà
Gregory P. Smith
Guido van Rossum
Inada Naoki
Ivan Levkivskyi
Jason R. Coombs
Jeremy Kloth
Jesús Cea
Joannah Nanjekye
Julien Palard
Kurt B. Kaiser
Kushal Das
Larry Hastings
Lisa Roach
Łukasz Langa
Marc-André Lemburg
Mark Dickinson
Mark Shannon
Matthias Klose
Michael Foord
Nathaniel J. Smith
Ned Deily
Neil Schemenauer
Alyssa Coghlan
Pablo Galindo
Paul Ganssle
Paul Moore
Petr Viktorin
R. David Murray
Raymond Hettinger
Robert Collins
Ronald Oussoren
Senthil Kumaran
Serhiy Storchaka
Skip Montanaro
Stefan Behnel
Stefan Krah
Steve Dower
Steven D'Aprano
Stéphane Wirtel
Tal Einat
Terry Jan Reedy
Thomas Wouters
Tim Golden
Tim Peters
Victor Stinner
Vinay Sajip
Walter Dörwald
Xavier de Gaye
Xiang Zhang
Yury Selivanov
Zachary Ware


Last modified: 2023-10-11 12:05:51 GMT