Following system colour scheme Selected dark colour scheme Selected light colour scheme

Python Enhancement Proposals

PEP 8102 – 2021 Term Steering Council election

Ewa Jodlowska <ewa at>, Ee Durbin <ee at>, Joe Carey <joe at>
Brett Cannon <brett at>

Table of Contents


This document describes the schedule and other details of the December 2020 election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is the steering council election for the 2021 term.

Election Administration

The steering council appointed the Python Software Foundation Director of Infrastructure, Ee Durbin, and Accounting Manager, Joe Carey, to coadminister the election.

Python Software Foundation Executive Director, Ewa Jodlowska, will communicate announcements regarding the election.


There will be a two-week nomination period, followed by a two-week vote.

The nomination period was: November 1, 2020 through November 16, 2020 12:00 UTC (The end of November 15, 2020 Anywhere on Earth). As announced on python-committers, and took place on

The voting period is: December 1, 2020 12:00 UTC through December 16, 2020 12:00 UTC (The end of December 15, 2020 Anywhere on Earth).


Candidates must be nominated by a core team member. If the candidate is a core team member, they may nominate themselves.

Nominees (in alphabetical order):

Withdrawn nominations:

  • None

Voter Roll

All active Python core team members are eligible to vote. Active status is determined as described in PEP 13 and implemented via the software at python/voters [1].

Ballots will be distributed based on the The Python Voter Roll for this election [1].

While this file is not public as it contains private email addresses, the Complete Voter Roll by name will be made available when the roll is created.

Election Implementation

The election will be conducted using the Helios Voting Service.


Short name: 2021-python-steering-council

Name: 2021 Python Steering Council Election

Description: Election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is steering council election for the 2021 term.

type: Election

Use voter aliases: [X]

Randomize answer order: [X]

Private: [X]

Help Email Address:

Voting starts at: December 1, 2020 00:00 UTC

Voting ends at: December 16, 2020 12:00 UTC

This will create an election in which:

  • Voting is not open to the public, only those on the Voter Roll may participate. Ballots will be emailed when voting starts.
  • Candidates are presented in random order, to help avoid bias.
  • Voter identities and ballots are protected against cryptographic advances.


Question 1

Select between 0 and - (approval) answers. Result Type: absolute

Question: Select candidates for the Python Steering Council

Answer #1 - #N: Candidates from Candidates_ Section


Of 91 eligible voters, 74 cast ballots.

The top five vote-getters are:

  • Barry Warsaw
  • Brett Cannon
  • Carol Willing
  • Pablo Galindo Salgado
  • Thomas Wouters

No conflict of interest as defined in PEP 13 were observed.

The full vote counts are as follows:

Candidate Votes Received
Pablo Galindo Salgado 59
Carol Willing 57
Barry Warsaw 56
Brett Cannon 54
Thomas Wouters 52
Christian Heimes 43
Mariatta 42
Raymond Hettinger 31
David Mertz 28
Matt Harrison 15

Complete Voter Roll

Active Python core developers

Abhilash Raj
Alex Gaynor
Alex Martelli
Alexander Belopolsky
Andrew Kuchling
Andrew Svetlov
Antoine Pitrou
Barry Warsaw
Batuhan Taskaya
Benjamin Peterson
Berker Peksağ
Brandt Bucher
Brett Cannon
Brian Curtin
Brian Quinlan
Carol Willing
Cheryl Sabella
Chris Jerdonek
Chris Withers
Christian Heimes
Christian Tismer
Davin Potts
Dino Viehland
Donald Stufft
Dong-hee Na
Emily Morehouse
Éric Araujo
Eric Snow
Eric V. Smith
Ethan Furman
Ezio Melotti
Facundo Batista
Fred Drake
Georg Brandl
Giampaolo Rodolà
Gregory P. Smith
Guido van Rossum
Hynek Schlawack
Inada Naoki
Ivan Levkivskyi
Jack Jansen
Jason R. Coombs
Jeremy Kloth
Jesús Cea
Joannah Nanjekye
Julien Palard
Karthikeyan Singaravelan
Kurt B. Kaiser
Kushal Das
Kyle Stanley
Larry Hastings
Lisa Roach
Łukasz Langa
Lysandros Nikolaou
Marc-André Lemburg
Mark Dickinson
Mark Hammond
Mark Shannon
Matthias Klose
Michael Foord
Nathaniel J. Smith
Ned Deily
Neil Schemenauer
Alyssa Coghlan
Pablo Galindo
Paul Ganssle
Paul Moore
Petr Viktorin
R. David Murray
Raymond Hettinger
Robert Collins
Ronald Oussoren
Sandro Tosi
Senthil Kumaran
Serhiy Storchaka
Stefan Behnel
Steve Dower
Steven D'Aprano
Stéphane Wirtel
Tal Einat
Terry Jan Reedy
Thomas Wouters
Tim Golden
Tim Peters
Victor Stinner
Vinay Sajip
Walter Dörwald
Xiang Zhang
Yury Selivanov
Zachary Ware


Last modified: 2023-10-11 12:05:51 GMT