Following system colour scheme Selected dark colour scheme Selected light colour scheme

Python Enhancement Proposals

PEP 8103 – 2022 Term Steering Council election

Ewa Jodlowska <ewa at>, Ee Durbin <ee at>, Joe Carey <joe at>
Barry Warsaw <barry at>

Table of Contents


This document describes the schedule and other details of the December 2021 election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is the steering council election for the 2022 term (i.e. Python 3.11).

Election Administration

The steering council appointed the Python Software Foundation Director of Infrastructure, Ee Durbin and Accounting Manager, Joe Carey, to coadminister the election.


There will be a two-week nomination period, followed by a two-week vote.

The nomination period was: November 1, 2021 through November 16, 2021 12:00 UTC (The end of November 15, 2021 Anywhere on Earth). As announced on python-committers, and took place on

The voting period is: December 1, 2021 12:00 UTC through December 16, 2021 12:00 UTC (The end of December 15, 2021 Anywhere on Earth).


Candidates must be nominated by a core team member. If the candidate is a core team member, they may nominate themselves.

Nominees (in alphabetical order):

Withdrawn nominations:

  • None

Voter Roll

All active Python core team members are eligible to vote. Active status is determined as described in PEP 13 and implemented via the software at python/voters [1].

Ballots will be distributed based on the The Python Voter Roll for this election [1].

While this file is not public as it contains private email addresses, the Complete Voter Roll by name will be made available when the roll is created.

Election Implementation

The election will be conducted using the Helios Voting Service.


Short name: 2022-python-steering-council

Name: 2022 Python Steering Council Election

Description: Election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is steering council election for the 2022 term.

type: Election

Use voter aliases: [X]

Randomize answer order: [X]

Private: [X]

Help Email Address:

Voting starts at: December 1, 2021 00:00 UTC

Voting ends at: December 16, 2021 12:00 UTC

This will create an election in which:

  • Voting is not open to the public, only those on the Voter Roll may participate. Ballots will be emailed when voting starts.
  • Candidates are presented in random order, to help avoid bias.
  • Voter identities and ballots are protected against cryptographic advances.


Question 1

Select between 0 and - (approval) answers. Result Type: absolute

Question: Select candidates for the Python Steering Council

Answer #1 - #N: Candidates from Candidates_ Section


Of 85 eligible voters, 67 cast ballots.

The top five vote-getters are:

  • Pablo Galindo Salgado
  • Petr Viktorin
  • Thomas Wouters
  • Gregory P. Smith
  • Brett Cannon

No conflict of interest as defined in PEP 13 were observed.

The full vote counts are as follows:

Candidate Votes Received
Pablo Galindo Salgado 61
Petr Viktorin 48
Thomas Wouters 48
Gregory P. Smith 44
Brett Cannon 42
Barry Warsaw 39
Victor Stinner 35
Mariatta 34
Dong-hee Na 26
David Mertz 24

Complete Voter Roll

Active Python core developers

Abhilash Raj
Alex Gaynor
Ammar Askar
Andrew Kuchling
Andrew Svetlov
Antoine Pitrou
Barry Warsaw
Batuhan Taskaya
Benjamin Peterson
Berker Peksağ
Brandt Bucher
Brett Cannon
Brian Curtin
Brian Quinlan
Carol Willing
Cheryl Sabella
Chris Jerdonek
Chris Withers
Christian Heimes
Dino Viehland
Dong-hee Na
Éric Araujo
Eric Snow
Eric V. Smith
Ethan Furman
Facundo Batista
Fred Drake
Giampaolo Rodolà
Gregory P. Smith
Guido van Rossum
Hynek Schlawack
Inada Naoki
Irit Katriel
Ivan Levkivskyi
Jason R. Coombs
Jeremy Kloth
Jesús Cea
Joannah Nanjekye
Julien Palard
Karthikeyan Singaravelan
Ken Jin
Kushal Das
Kyle Stanley
Larry Hastings
Lisa Roach
Łukasz Langa
Lysandros Nikolaou
Marc-André Lemburg
Mark Dickinson
Mark Shannon
Nathaniel J. Smith
Ned Deily
Neil Schemenauer
Alyssa Coghlan
Pablo Galindo
Paul Ganssle
Paul Moore
Petr Viktorin
Raymond Hettinger
Ronald Oussoren
Senthil Kumaran
Serhiy Storchaka
Stefan Behnel
Stéphane Wirtel
Steve Dower
Tal Einat
Terry Jan Reedy
Thomas Wouters
Tim Golden
Tim Peters
Victor Stinner
Vinay Sajip
Xiang Zhang
Yury Selivanov
Zachary Ware


Last modified: 2023-10-11 12:05:51 GMT