Following system colour scheme Selected dark colour scheme Selected light colour scheme

Python Enhancement Proposals

PEP 8105 – 2024 Term Steering Council election

Ee Durbin <ee at>
Thomas Wouters <thomas at>

Table of Contents


This document describes the schedule and other details of the 2023 election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is the steering council election for the 2024 term (i.e. Python 3.13).

Election Administration

The steering council appointed the Python Software Foundation Director of Infrastructure, Ee Durbin, to administer the election.


There was a two-week nomination period, followed by a two-week vote.

The nomination period was: November 9, 2023 through November 22, 2023 AoE [2].

The voting period will be: November 27, 2023 through December 11, 2023 AoE [2].


Candidates must be nominated by a core team member. If the candidate is a core team member, they may nominate themselves.

Nominees (in alphabetical order by first name):

Withdrawn nominations:

  • None

Voter Roll

All active Python core team members are eligible to vote. Active status is determined as described in PEP 13 and implemented via the software at python/voters [1].

Ballots will be distributed based on the the Python Voter Roll [1] for this election.

While this file is not public as it contains private email addresses, the Complete Voter Roll by name will be made available when the roll is created.

Election Implementation

The election will be conducted using the Helios Voting Service.


Short name: 2024-python-steering-council

Name: 2024 Python Steering Council Election

Description: Election for the Python steering council, as specified in PEP 13. This is steering council election for the 2024 term.

type: Election

Use voter aliases: [X]

Randomize answer order: [X]

Private: [X]

Help Email Address:

Voting starts at: November 27, 2023 12:00 UTC

Voting ends at: December 11, 2023 12:00 UTC

This will create an election in which:

  • Voting is not open to the public, only those on the Voter Roll may participate. Ballots will be emailed when voting starts.
  • Candidates are presented in random order, to help avoid bias.
  • Voter identities and ballots are protected against cryptographic advances.


Question 1

Select between 0 and - (approval) answers. Result Type: absolute

Question: Select candidates for the Python Steering Council

Answer #1 - #N: Candidates from Candidates_ Section


Of NN eligible voters, MM cast ballots.

The top five vote-getters are:

  • TBD
  • TBD
  • TBD
  • TBD
  • TBD

No conflict of interest as defined in PEP 13 were observed.

The full vote counts are as follows:

Candidate Votes Received

Complete Voter Roll

Active Python core developers

Adam Turner
Alex Gaynor
Alex Waygood
Alexander Belopolsky
Alyssa Coghlan
Ammar Askar
Andrew Svetlov
Antoine Pitrou
Barney Gale
Barry Warsaw
Batuhan Taskaya
Benjamin Peterson
Berker Peksağ
Brandt Bucher
Brett Cannon
Brian Curtin
C.A.M. Gerlach
Carl Friedrich Bolz-Tereick
Carl Meyer
Carol Willing
Cheryl Sabella
Chris Withers
Christian Heimes
Dennis Sweeney
Dino Viehland
Donghee Na
Emily Morehouse
Éric Araujo
Eric Snow
Eric V. Smith
Erlend Egeberg Aasland
Ethan Furman
Ezio Melotti
Facundo Batista
Filipe Laíns
Georg Brandl
Giampaolo Rodolà
Gregory P. Smith
Guido van Rossum
Hugo van Kemenade
Hynek Schlawack
Inada Naoki
Irit Katriel
Ivan Levkivskyi
Jason R. Coombs
Jelle Zijlstra
Jeremy Kloth
Joannah Nanjekye
Julien Palard
Karthikeyan Singaravelan
Ken Jin
Kumar Aditya
Kurt B. Kaiser
Kushal Das
Larry Hastings
Łukasz Langa
Lysandros Nikolaou
Marc-André Lemburg
Mark Dickinson
Mark Shannon
Nathaniel J. Smith
Ned Deily
Neil Schemenauer
Pablo Galindo
Paul Ganssle
Paul Moore
Petr Viktorin
Pradyun Gedam
R. David Murray
Raymond Hettinger
Ronald Oussoren
Senthil Kumaran
Serhiy Storchaka
Shantanu Jain
Stefan Behnel
Stéphane Wirtel
Steve Dower
Tal Einat
Terry Jan Reedy
Thomas Wouters
Tim Golden
Tim Peters
Victor Stinner
Vinay Sajip
Yury Selivanov
Zachary Ware


Last modified: 2023-11-23 16:45:52 GMT